Imam mosque is one of the Naqsh-e-Jahan mosques, which has been built in the Safavid era and is a good example of Islamic Architecture. This building is a timeless masterpiece of eleventh century’s Architecture and tiling. Abbasi Jame mosque located in the southern side of Naqsh-e-Jahan Square and in the vicinity of important buildings such as Ali Qapu and Sheikh Lotfollah mosque.
By command of Shah Abbas, construction of the mosque began in the year 1020 A.H, coincide with twenty fourth year of his reign, and finished in Shah Soltan Safi era.
The mosque’s main entrance is located in the southern side of Naqsh-e Jahan square and there are other entrances in the surrounding neighborhood for easier access.
As it is written in the inscription of the mosque entrance, Shah Abbas 1 called this mosque, Jame Mosque, and he also founded that with his own assets and he donated the mosque to the soul of his great grandfather Shah Tahmasb. Below the inscription of the mosque is an announcement that lauds master Ali Akbar Isfahani as its architect. The mosque’s inscriptions are mostly by famous Calligrapher of Safavid era such as AlirezaAbbasi, Abdolbaghi Tabrizi, Mohammadreza and Mohammad saleh Emami that are decorated in seven-colored tile.
Imam mosque has four porches and a hexagon shaped courtyard. In the eastern south and western south of the mosque’s courtyard, there are Soleimanie and Naseri school that were furbished by Naseredin Shah. In the eastern south of the mosque, there is a piece of stone with a special shape that shows the true noon of each season that is calculated by great Faqih and scientist and mathematician Sheikh Bahai. The upper surface of this indicator is right triangle shaped, the hypotenuse of triangle shows noon, and the other side defines the Qebleh of the mosque.
The mosque has two discrete domes and its architect is Mastern Fereidun Naini. An interesting fact about the mosque is the echo of the sound in the center of southern dome that has 52 meters height.
The finest tiling of the mosque is on its entrance gateway that is completely covered with seven color tiles. The main arch of the entrance is decorated with three rows of blue decorative spirals and marble vases that are curved into the arches. The rest of the mosque is designed with bricks and seven colored tiles. In Balakhane on the gateway there is an illustration of two green peacocks than in Iranian tradition is the symbol of eternity. In another frame is a painting of sparrow, flowers, and bushes together that are reminder of paradise and its eternal and refreshing gardens. Allah, Mohammad, and Ali also design the gateway in the kufic script.
In Imam Mosque, there are numerous commands of Shah Abbas 1 on stone tables that makes this mosque more interesting. Although each part of the mosque is historically important but some parts are more unique and important. For example the monolithic pulpit that is made of porphyry stone. This pulpit has fourteen stairs that the last one is the place that the preacher sits. The pulpit was mostly used in winters.
The Jame mosque has four magnificent Minarets that are along architectural Masterpieces of Safavid era. Two minarets that are in both sides of dome have 48 meters high and the decorations on them are Islamic patterns on the cyan background. They are designed in a way that from Qeisarye palace you can only see one minaret .In 1310 H.A Imam Mosque recorded as one of Iranian national monuments.